The Cooperation with developing countries, an integrating part of the Italian foreign policy, aims to contribute to the coordinated efforts decided by the UN and EU to alleviate poverty around the world and help developing countries to reinforce their institutions, in the name of good governance and in the respect of human rights and the democratic participation to economic development of all social and gender components. Development cooperation is based on the need to guarantee the respect of life and of human dignity and to...   more

The organization of the Directorate General for Development Cooperation (DGDC) is determined by the Decree of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, under Art.10 of law n 49/1987. The Technical Units (Offices) created in the priority developing Countries, are also part of the organization. Extract from the MD n. 029/945 of the 23-4-2001 (organisational Decree of the MFA) Article 16 Directorate General for Development Cooperation. The DGDC is divided into 12 departments, other than the Central Technical Unit, with the...   more

The Technical Cooperation Units (Departments) established by the DGDC in the priority developing countries, after decision of the Directional Committee. The Technical Units are made up of technical and administrative experts assigned by the DGDC, as well as the executive and auxiliary staff employed locally. They are provided with the necessary funds and equipment for the execution of the duties assigned to them. Each technical Unit is headed by an expert of the Central Technical Unit, which responds, even with regard to...   more

The development cooperation activities are based on the financial resources authorized by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs by the budget and other legal measures. These resources are assigned partly to bilateral interventions financed with aid credit and partly to interventions with bilateral or multilateral grants. The main difference between these two forms of financing is that the aid credit, unlike the grant, is a capital that is lent, that must therefore be returned, even if on very favourable conditions,...   more

The Law 84 of the 21st of March 2001 disciplines the form of participation of Italy to the stabilization process, reconstruction and development of the Countries in the Balkan area, in order to coordinate national interventions with the initiatives engaged on a community and multilateral level. The Countries benefiting of the intervention are: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, FYR of Macedonia, Serbia, Montenegro and Romania. The Law 84 foresees the creation of two organs: - A Committee of Ministers,...   more

© 2004 - 2016 Office for Cooperation and Development Design & Programing WPP